South America Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.2
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  3.9
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  3.9

"Guesthouse was closed! DO NOT RECOMMEND!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Hardeep B. of Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   December 5, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We arrived at Mango Guesthouse at about 930pm and found out that the guesthouse was closed for the season. The guesthouse took our reservation and deposit, however upon arrival it was shut down. The condo next door called staff they knew and told us it would be closed for at least 45 days.

The staff did not care that we had made a reservation and provided us with no options for the night. This place is on the outskirts of town and is not a place I would like to be stranded at night time. It is unsafe and insecure.

I do not recommend anyone to stay here. I will be sending this information to all guidebooks that have Mango Guesthouse listed to update their information. This was a horrible experience on our first night in Brazil.

"A Great Value"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Stan F. of Las Vegas NV, United States
Reviewed:   December 4, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
While it's out of the way if you prefer downtown Manaus and immediacy to the docks that take you to the Amazon, Mango Guesthouse is a terrific value in a beautiful behind-the-residential-walls neighborhood "garden apartment" environment. Clean as a whistle, hot shower, an air conditioner that works, firm bed.

Just make sure you are the first in the door for the continental breakfast. We happened to be the only guests at the time, the Mango crew ate it all before we got there and it was never replaced.

"very nice"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mareike B. of Düsseldorf, Germany
Reviewed:   February 21, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the mango guesthouse is very friendly and nice. the rooms are big and clean. the garden is very green and I have seen araras and other birds there. the people are friendly and like to help.

"Stay in Manaus"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Detlef E. of Munich, Germany
Reviewed:   January 17, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Owner claimed heavy demand on christmas and new years eve in order to get full payment in advance --> were the only guests

Nobody spoke English to an extent you can communicate (though helpfull)

fortget about breakfast!!!

"Mango Guest House, Manuaus, Brazil"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Anita K. of Vancouver, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   October 25, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I used this as a stop over before going to an eco-lodge on the Rio Negro.

When I arrived - at 4 am - I was rather surprised and concerned at how remotely situated it was, but it turned out that it was not as bad as I thought, once I saw the lay of the land the next day.

The gardens were very unkempt and the rooms sparse, but the breakfast room was great and aside from the slightly disheveled gardens, it was okay. Very kind people running it and decent value for money. I would use it again.

"Not good"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   Pieter S. of Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed:   September 28, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Booking was made for 2 Rooms, each with ONE DOUBLE bed (for 2 couples). Upon arriving, first room shown to us was a room with 2 single beds and when we tried to explain that it was not correct, there was a huge language problem - nobody could speak or understood English at all. Eventually got two rooms, each with double bed and en-suite bathrooms as booked, but it took about 30 minutes.
We asked that the person at reception book a taxi to take us to the airport early the next morning (had to be at the airport at 06:00) and he just said "ok, no problem" - but he never booked the taxi. The next morning we nearly missed our flight as we had to wait for a taxi to arrive after phoning several times.
We also said we would not have breakfast the next morning as we have to depart early. We however asked for 3 coffees, 1 sandwich and 4 drinks as we have arrived too late to go out for dinner. We received coffee, drinks and the sandwiches as well as some hot chocolate (not ordered) and the next morning received quite a large bill for that.

"OK(-ish)"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Marco R. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   August 31, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The rooms are ok - the large toucan mural was very nice, but the A/C was noisy and inefficient. The staff is helpful; breakfast is basic. Location-wise, it's a bit far from the centre, but safe; you do need a taxi to get anywhere, though.

"Peace and Quiet"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Izelle S. of Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed:   August 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I stayed in Mango Guesthouse for 2 nights when we travelled to Manaus. The guesthouse was very clean, the food was great and the location is perfect. They also assisted us with organising a tour and booking accommodation for another leg of our trip (as we cannot speak Portuguese). I will definitely recommend Mango Guesthouse.

"Friendly Stay"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Susan B. of Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 25, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the Mango Guest House with my brother and family in April. We arrived to a very friendly welcome and at all times the staff were both courteous and very helpful. The rooms though basic were clean and cool on our return from a trips out, this was very welcome.Though small I enjoyed a dip in the pool which was very welcome after a day out up the Amazon. They had free Internet access which was very useful and of great value to us as the Icelandic Volcano had just erupted and we had a 7th member due to meet us later in our holiday. I would certainly go back thank you for a great stay. My brother and I agreed you would describe the guest house as CHARMING.

"2*2 nights in Mango"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Gonny P. of Ivinghoe Aston/Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 1, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We can highly recommend the Mango Guest House., a quiet and peaceful guest house at the outskirts of Manaus with a good bus connection to the city. The place is clean, spacious and the food is basic but good. Staff is very friendly and aware of your habits and comsumption. Unfortunately I broke my arm a few hours after arrival, but staff did everthing to help me. Coming back from hospital there were a group of singers who adressed one of their songs to the unfortunate "Donna Maria". During daytime there is always English speaking staff. Our choice ismade for the next Manaus trip! When we did a 5 days jungle trip we could leave the remaining luggage in a locked room in the guest house.


1 - 10 of 24 reviews  Next 10 results




SouthAmericaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us