South America Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.8
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  3.9
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  3.9

"Hotel Sumac Wasi expectation"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   JOSE C. of Lima, Peru
Reviewed:   December 2, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Arrived to Cusco Airport ( I waited Hotel´s transportation for 30 minutes)
Hotel:Old building, if you have childs, not recommended stay on it.
Location: close to square main cusco however it is a street of discotecs and restaurants.
Tours : I took the machu picchu tours, I´ve had to carry on to my daughter 7 year old at 3am from the hotel to the bus (7 blocks away).

To me , it is not a hotel for family, it is for backpackers.

"Muy agradable !!!"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Nelly O. of San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Reviewed:   October 8, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mi estadia fue muy agradable, sin ningún tipo de inconvenientes, me hicieron sentir muy cómoda, también armaron mis excursiones y todo salió muy bien. Estoy muy contenta con el trato y con la estadía. No tengo nada en contra. Muy buena ubicación y tranquilo. Muchas gracias Sumac Wasi

"It was pleasant..."

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Enrique L. of California, United States
Reviewed:   September 15, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Got a price through this web site, which the manager/owner didn't want to honor, she said it was a mistake of the web site, and I told her in a nice way it wasn't my problem, she said she will contact the web site. At the end she honor my original price. Other than that, all the staff were very nice.
Location was great, little courtyard is the nicest spot in the hostel. Water was ok the first couple of days but the heater broke and we had very cold showers after that, water service in Cuzco is limited to just in the morning, after that hotels depend on the water tank capacity.

"Peru"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Marcos S. of São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed:   August 20, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was the second time I visited Peru. What I have to say is: I do not really have a unique word to sum it up. I have visited 30 countries and Peru is one of the best. You mustn´t die before visiting it.
In Cusco I stayed in a Hotel named Sumac Wasi. Its is cosy, near Plaza de Armas, safety... and so on. Go there!!!

Sanson

"Nice memories"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Joost V. of Rotterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   January 23, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After my first visit to South-America back in 2004, including some night in this hostel, I wanted to share this beautiful continent with my family. In december from last year we took off, starting in Buenos Aires, crossing the whole continent, visiting some of the most impressive things I've seen before. Of course Cusco and Machu Picchu had been part of the plan from the beginning. I'd decided to go back to Sumac Wasi, since I had some nice memories. If I ask my family members now which city had been the most impressive, I know they will say: Cusco. And that is also because of this hostel.

"buena ubicación"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   BEATRIZ S. of BUENOS AIRES, Argentina
Reviewed:   December 14, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
visité el Sumac con mi hermana, nos pareció bueno, sobre todo la atención de la gente.
Como sugerencia, hay que cuidar un poco el tema de los ruidos. La habitación del frente que nos tocó el primer día no pudimos dormir en toda la noche. Y las últimas noches que nos tocó la habitación de la parte nueva, la única contra es que se escuchan los ruidos de la cocina y sube el olor a gas.
Por lo demás todo bien. Gracias

"Sumac Wasi in Cusco, Peru"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   David G. of Cary, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed:   November 28, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hotel is a beautiful colonial-period building with a wonderfully beautiful, peaceful central courtyard. The rooms are spacious, beds have plenty of blankets, the bathroom is very nice, ample hot water, and the location is ideal--just off the main square. The staff is very helpful with regard to leaving bags here while guests leave to visit Machu Picchu. Nearby restaurants are outstanding.
Things some people might complain about: The breakfast room is very cold, and the breakfast is okay, but not great. We were promised a free ride from the airport into town on arrival, but no driver was there. The taxi drivers who were meeting arrivals told us that very often Sumac Wasi does not deliver on this promise. Likewise, the person we hired to pick us up at the Poroy train station when we returned from Machu Picchu did not materialize, and this person has an office in the hotel. Even so, we will stay at this hotel again when we come back to Cusco.

"Sumac Wasi"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Gustavo D. of Ciudad Autonoma De Buenos Aire, Argentina
Reviewed:   September 30, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The attention was good and friendly and the hotel is decent. Although the room was basic and the heating was poor. At night, they close the doors, and is quite uncomfortable to wait in the street for someone to hear the bell at night (I mean 10-11 pm) so you can enter the hotel to sleep after a night walk.

"Good memories"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Glenn M. of Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed:   September 25, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We found Sumac Wasi an ideal place to stay. Not new and flashy but clean, quiet, and ever so well located. Security is fantastic and the service above average. Having our favourite travel agent Erika from Salkantay trail right on site was a real bonus.

"Buena Estancia / Good Stay"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   José Rafael P. of Valencia. Edo. Carabobo, Venezuela
Reviewed:   September 4, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Está muy bien ubicado (a 1/2 cuadra de la Plaza de Armas) y aunque solo ofrece prestaciones básicas consistentes en una habitación c/baño, agua caliente, calefacción, TV por cable y WiFi, vale decir que tanto las habitaciones como los baños son limpios y cómodos. / It is very well located (1 / 2 block from the Plaza de Armas) and although only offers basic features consisting of a room w / bath, hot water, heating, cable TV and WiFi, namely that both rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable.

Lo más importante de todo es el personal a cargo. Desde antes de hacer la reserva y durante nuestra estadía, la atención y el esmerado servicio que nos brindaron Lourdes, Alfredo y "el estudiante de astronomía" (creo que Raimundo) compensaron cualquier falla. / The most important of all was the staff. Since before booking and during our stay, care and excellent service we received from Lourdes, Alfredo and "student of astronomy" (I think that Raymond) offset any failure.

El único punto negativo es el desayuno. Para el que busca algo sencillo, cómodo y cerca de todo es muy recomendable. / The only negative was the breakfast. For those looking for something simple, comfortable and close to everything is highly recommended.


1 - 10 of 85 reviews  Next 10 results




SouthAmericaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us